Marin, Madison win places on Bryan city council; Incumbents unseated

By  | 

BRYAN, Tex. (KBTX) - Bryan city councilmen Rafael Pena III and Al Saenz have been unseated by voters in their districts.

Rueben Marin is the new city councilman for Council Single Member District 1. He won the race with 52%, earning 734 votes.

Al Saenz received 465 votes, or 33%. Raul Santana received 225 votes, or 16%.

Saenz, who works in shipping and receiving at an industrial company, was unopposed when he first won SMD1 in 2007. Three years later, Richard Cortez took the seat from Saenz by a single vote. In 2013, the two matched up again, with Saenz scoring a 14-point win.

Marin was making his first run for political office, though he's no stranger to the office. His father, Joe Marin, was elected to serve SMD1 in the early and mid-2000s. The younger Marin works as a sales manager at a food company. He's on the Bryan Planning and Zoning Commission and the Bryan Business Council.

Santana, who is retired, was making his first run for political office.

Single Member District 1 represents much of the city's west side, including the Downtown Bryan area.

Rafael Pena III - who has been involved in several controversies over the last year - lost Tuesday's race after getting only 43% of the vote.
Madison received 57%.

Pena, who works as a rural carrier associate for the United States Postal Service, was first elected to SMD2 in 2013, becoming one of the youngest council members in Bryan history. He defeated Perry Stephney in a runoff by a 62-38 percent margin.

Madison, like Marin, was making his first run for political office and is the son of a former Bryan council member. Paul Madison served as SMD2's representative for much of the 2000s. Prentiss is a manager at a metal salvage company. He has served on the city's planning and zoning commission among other boards.