Blinn College Ag Sciences Program wins top honors at TJCAA Convention

By: Blinn College Email
By: Blinn College Email

NACOGDOCHES - The accolades continue to roll in for Blinn College’s Agricultural Sciences Program.

The program recently placed first overall at the Texas Junior College Agriculture Association (TJCAA) Convention at Stephen F. Austin State University.

Blinn won 12 of the 15 scoreable on-site contests, in addition to its sweepstakes and outstanding chapter recognition as the state’s top junior college club. Taylor Walker placed first overall as the convention’s most outstanding student, while Whitney Grantham placed second.

“We had a completely new crop of students this year and I’m very satisfied with how we placed,” Ag Instructor Bryn Behnke said. “Between the judging team’s success, the number of ag mechanic shows we’ve helped with and the countless other events, it’s been a very successful year.”
The Blinn Agricultural Sciences Program is roughly four times the size of any other two-year agricultural program in the state and offers agriculture classes on all of its campuses, with the W.J. “Bill” Rankin Agricultural Complex serving as the program’s hub.

In addition to its excellence in the classroom, Blinn offers extracurricular educational activities in the areas of livestock judging, agriculture club, wildlife, agriculture mechanics, horticulture and agriculture sciences.

For more information on Blinn’s ag science program, visit:

1. Blinn
Outstanding Chapter
1. Blinn
Outstanding Student
1. Taylor Walker - Spring Branch
2. Whitney Grantham - Brenham
1. Blinn
Public Relations
1. Blinn
Prepared Public Speaking
1. Tayler Walker
2. Lucia Mendez - Weimar
Ag Mechanics
1. Brady Arthur - Ralls
2. Taylor Nieman - Wallis
4. Chris McLaren - Missouri City
T8. Ty Batchelor
T8. Deonte Carr
Ag Economics
1. Brady Arthur
2. Whitney Grantham
T5. Dakota Crissman - Bells
T5. Shea Mackey - College Station
T5. Chama Martin - Mason
T5. Nicole Terrell - Pearland
Animal Science
1. Whitney Grantham
2. Shea Mackey
4. Chama Martin
5. Dakota Crissman
T7. Chris McLaren
T7. Tori Merryfield
T7. Sam Butler
T10. Tyler Krebs
T10. Emily Neuman
T10. Faith Nutt
T10. Payton Warmke
1. Melissa Espinoza
3. Shea Mackey
5. Charlotte Sturm - Stafford
1. Ashely Lewis - Fowlerton
4. Melissa Espinoza - Brenham
9. Sayde Reeder
1. Chris McLaren
2. Faith Nutt - Brenham
4. Charlotte Sturm
6. Tyler Krebs
9. Emily Neuman
Equine Science
2. Melissa Espinoza
6. Brady Arthur
7. Chama Martin
Job Interview
2. Maria Jamieson - Tuscon, Ariz.
3. Brooke Young - Brenham
3. Ashely Lewis
4. Brady Arthur
8. Nicole Terrell

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 256541611 -
Gray Television, Inc.