Gem of the Day 11/7: Texas Main Street Cities Receive National Recognition

By: KBTX Staff Email
By: KBTX Staff Email

Huntsville has been commended for its successful annual progress as a designated Main Street community. The Texas Historical Commission (THC) and its Texas Main Street Program (TMSP) made the announcement November 2 at the annual statewide downtown revitalization conference co-hosted by the TMSP and the Texas Downtown Association.

The 55 National Recognition cities, which represent the real places of Texas, include: Amarillo, Bastrop, Bay City, Beaumont, Brenham, Bridgeport, Canton, Canyon, Carthage, Celina, Colorado City, Corsicana, Del Rio, Denton, Electra, Elgin, Farmersville, Ferris, Georgetown, Goliad, Gonzales, Graham, Grapevine, Greenville, Harlingen, Henderson, Hillsboro, Huntsville, Kerrville, La Grange, Laredo, Levelland, Livingston, Llano, Longview, Lufkin, McKinney, Mount Pleasant, Mount Vernon, Nacogdoches, New Braunfels, Odessa, Palestine, Paris, Pecos, Plainview, Rio Grande City, Rockwall, San Angelo, San Marcos, Seguin, Taylor, Waxahachie, Weatherford and Winnsboro. These cities will be further recognized as Nationally Accredited by the National Trust for Historic Preservation next April in Baltimore, MD at the annual conference of the National Trust Main Street Center.
“Throughout 2011 we have been celebrating the Texas Main Street Program’s 30 years of progress, having taken our first designated cities in 1981. Recognizing these cities for their efforts in revitalizing their historic downtowns takes on special meaning this year. The programs being acknowledged are large and small from all areas of the state, showing that the Main Street model is appropriate for all kinds of communities with historic downtowns,” said Debra Farst, TMSP state coordinator.


National accredited Main Street cities show above average performance in ten categories on an annual report. Selection criteria focus on planning, partnerships, staffing, volunteer effort, preservation ethic, training and program assessment through reporting. “Huntsville is very blessed to have such a dedicated group of volunteers and supporters of our program,” said Kim McAuliffe, Huntsville Main Street Program Coordinator. “Without their help throughout the year, we couldn’t have done as much as we have. I especially want to thank the Main Street Board and Committees for all of their hard work this year.” For additional information about the national Main Street effort, visit the National Trust Main Street web site at For more information on the Texas Historical Commission’s Main Street program visit

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 133378058 -
Gray Television, Inc.