Madisonville Police Host First Department Awards Ceremony

By: KBTX Staff and MPD Press Release Email
By: KBTX Staff and MPD Press Release Email

The Madisonville Police Department held its first Police Department Awards ceremony last week. The officers were joined by their families, friends and community members to celebrate their accomplishments.

The following press release from the Madisonville Police Department has information about the award recipients.

On Wednesday March 12, 2014 at 1:00pm, the Madisonville Police Department hosted its first ever Police Department Awards Ceremony at the Truman Kimbro Convention Center. Officers of the department were joined by family, friends, and community members of Madisonville to celebrate the accomplishments of the police department and individual officers.

Tyler Ogle was honored as the 2013 Officer of the Year and now former Lieutenant, Jonathan Zitzmann, was named and sworn in as MPD’s Assistant Chief of Police. Several other individuals were nominated and received awards from the National Awards Program, which is an awards program created by the American Police Hall of Fame and the National Association of Chiefs of Police.

Cpl. Don Craft and Cpl. Gary Laws were awarded Criminal Investigation Awards for their work on a major sexual assault case and an organized gambling ring.

Inv. Aaron Campbell was awarded the J. Edgar Hoover Award for his dedication to training and work towards becoming a certified crime scene investigator.

Officer Jonathan Lawrenz and his K9 partner “Gunny” received an Outstanding Commendation and K9 Service Award for their work towards major narcotics seizures.

Officer Greg McMahon was awarded the Merit Award for an Excellent Arrest for his arrest of a Capital Murder Fugitive attempting to relocate to Madisonville.

Mr. Ismael Aceves was awarded a Civilian Life Saving Award for saving his baby sister’s life by pushing her away from an oncoming vehicle that ended up striking him, seriously injuring him.

Pamela Ogle, wife of Officer of the Year Tyler Ogle, received the Police Spouse Award for her dedication, selflessness, and support of the police department.

Officers Greg McMahon and Will Anderson received the Silver Star of Bravery for talking down a man who was holding a loaded pistol to his head threatening to commit suicide.

Chief of Police Chuck May also awarded Animal Control Officer Ami Nash, Administrative Assistant Stacy Stubblefield, and Volunteer Firefighter Frankie Smith with a Chief of Police Commendation.

“This is the first time our department has ever been able to have a ceremony like this. Over the past two years, the quality of work and the quality of policing has drastically improved here in Madisonville, leading to a better quality of life for our community.

Cpl. Gary Laws’ investigation led to the largest cash seizure in the history of our department. Cpl. Craft’s investigation led to justice being served for a case that made national news.

Inv. Aaron Campbell has become to department’s first ever certified crime scene investigator. K9 Officer Jonathan Lawrenz’s work has led to more than 16 pounds of cocaine and 24 pounds of marijuana being seized. Officer Greg McMahon arrested one of Texas’ most wanted fugitives and prevented him from moving into our community. Mr. Ismael Aceves inspired the police department and our entire community for his heroic actions.

Mrs. Pamela Ogle respects the badge just as much as her husband does and goes out of her way to help the department in any way she can. Officers Greg McMahon and Will Anderson are heroes by helping a man overcome a moment of weakness to live another day.
Officer Tyler Ogle is more than deserving of Officer of the Year and we are thankful for his enthusiasm, loyalty, and dedication. Often times officers go unrecognized for the amazing work they but these officer’s actions cannot be ignored.”
- C.W. “Chuck” May, Chief of Police

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 250673731 -
Gray Television, Inc.