Early Voting for Primary Runoffs Begins Monday

Candidates Visit First News at Four

Monday, July 23
Tucker Anderson
TX House Dist 12 Candidate

Wednesday, July 25
Kyle Kacal
TX House Dist 12 Candidate

Thursday, July 26
David Hilburn
Brazos Co. DA Candidate

Friday, July 27
Jarvis Parsons
Brazos Co. DA Candidate


Early voting for the primary runoff elections begins Monday, with a number of key races still to be decided.

Ballots can be cast early through Friday, with Election Day set for Tuesday, July 31.

A Republican primary voter in May can only vote in the Republican runoff, and a Democratic primary voter in May can only vote in the Democratic runoff. Someone who did not vote in a May primary can vote in a runoff of their choosing.

The next Brazos County district attorney is set to be all-but-decided in a Republican race between Jarvis Parsons and David Hilburn. Parsons, a prosecutor with the DA's office, scored 48 percent of the vote in May. Hilburn, a defense attorney and former prosecutor, finished with 22 percent in the four-person race.

No Democrat chose to run, so the Republican winner July 31 will be in line to replace the retiring Bill Turner.

A Republican nominee to represent the rural Texas State House District 12 will be chosen. In a close five-person race in May, Calvert lawyer and rancher Tucker Anderson earned 29.5 percent, with Brazos County rancher Kyle Kacal coming in second with 24 percent.

The winner will face Democrat Robert Stem of Waco in November.

District 12 covers mostly rural portions of Brazos County, eastern portions of McLennan County, and all of Robertson, Falls and Limestone Counties.

The four aforementioned candidates took part in a forum last week in College Station. Video from the event is available through a link below, along with more election information, including how to find polling places.

The DA and state representative candidates will appear on KBTX's First News at Four this week.

Among the races to be decided statewide are the two major party nominations for U.S. Senate. On the Republican side, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst and former Solicitor General Ted Cruz are locked in a heated race. Democratic primary voters will send either Paul Sadler or Grady Yarbrough to the November general election.

The Senate seat is opening due to the retirement of Texas' senior senator, Kay Bailey Hutchison.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 163307886 - kbtx.com/a?a=163307886
Gray Television, Inc.