A&M Regents Bestow Honors on Local Professors, Administrators

By  | 

Six professors and administrators with Texas A&M University and Texas A&M University System agencies in College Station were among eleven who received the designation of Regents Professor or Regents Fellow for 2006-2007 during a meeting Thursday of the A&M System Board of Regents.

Texas A&M University faculty members who were named Regents Professors are Dr. David Bessler and Dr. Sherry Yennello.

Dr. John Gold, who has a joint appointment with the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, was the recipient from the Agriculture Program, and Dr. John Lee, who has a joint appointment with the Texas Engineering Experiment Station, was the recipient from the Engineering Program.

Also named a Regents Professor was Dr. Marcia Ory with the Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health.

A local agency administrator who was named a Regents Fellow is Thomas Boggus of the Texas Forest Service.

The Board established the Regents Professor Award program in 1996 and Regents Fellows Service Award program in 1997 to recognize employees who have made exemplary contributions to their university or agency and to the people of Texas.

To date, with the new recipients, 106 faculty members have been named Regents Professors and 65 agency professionals have been named Regents Fellows.

Nominees must be full-time professors or senior-level professionals who have held that rank in the A&M System for at least five years and have produced a distinguished record of teaching, research and/or service.

The chief executive officer of each university or agency nominates candidates for these designations. Nominations are reviewed by the chancellor, who then recommends them to the Board of Regents.

Recipients will be given a $9,000 stipend, a commemorative medallion and a certificate at a dinner this evening in their honor.

Others receiving the Regents Professor designation are Dr. Gilbert Rowe of Texas A&M University at Galveston and Dr. Michael Tewes of Texas A&M University-Kingsville.

Others designated as Regents Fellows are Dr. Billy Higginbotham of Texas Cooperative Extension in Overton; Dr. Charles Rush of the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station in Amarillo; and Robert Whitney of Texas Cooperative Extension in Comanche, currently serving in Amman, Jordan.