Bryan Mayor's Downtown Impact Award Announced

A pair of deserving downtown Bryan leaders received a big honor on Tuesday.

Long-time volunteer Cindy Peaslee and Mexican restaurant PaPa Perez were named co-winners of the Mayor's Downtown Impact Award.

Peaslee has dedicated countless hours to economic development as a vice chair of the Downtown Bryan Economic Development Association (DBEDA) and chair of the DBEDA Events & Tourism Committee. PaPa Perez has introduced new customers to the downtown area.

During Tuesday's ceremony, First National Bank CEO Tim Bryan presented a $500 check in the names of Cindy Peaslee and PaPa Perez to the Boys & Girls Club of Brazos Valley.

Past recipients of the Mayor's Downtown Impact Award:

2006 Russell Bradley and Greta Watkins
2005 John Hendry
2004 Zane Anderson and Michael Schaefer
2003 John Clanton and W.J. Bryan Partnership, LP
2002 Caffe' Capri and Rami Cerone
2001 EarthArt, Eric and Hazel Todd; Mrs. Edward (Pat) Hiler
2000 Old Bryan Market Place and Kay Conlee