New Dollar Coins Set for Circulation

By  | 

WASHINGTON (AP) - The U.S. Mint is unveiling a new set of dollar coins featuring the likenesses of four presidents.

The gold-colored coin series started last February with George Washington.

The latest set will start with the fifth president, James Monroe. It will be followed by John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren.

The Mint hopes the presidential series will breathe new life into dollar coins. They have not been used much in the past. The Susan B. Anthony and the Sacagawea dollar coins were considered flops.

One problem has been that the coins weren't widely accepted in vending machines and mass transit systems.

This time around, the Mint is launching a pilot program in the Washington, D.C. area aimed at stimulating business and bank demand for the coins.

The tails side of the coins feature the Statue of Liberty, and some of the lettering has been moved to the edge of the coins.