Junior League Announces New Projects, Scholarships and Officers

A Bryan and Consol student are headed to Texas A&M University thanks to the Junior League of the Brazos Valley.

On Tuesday evening, the organization announced its scholarship recipients, Neely Gage from Bryan High School and Giulana Salazar-Noratto from A&M Consolidated High School.

Also at the Junior League's annual meeting, new officers were introduced, as well as projects for the upcoming year.

The Executive Officers inducted for the 2008-2009 year are President - Sheryl Welford, Executive Vice President - Sherry Jennings, Community VP - Daphanie Thomasson, Communication VP - Cherry Kay Wolf, Finance VP - Debra Matthews, Fund Development VP - Trudy Bennett, and Membership VP - Karen Royal.

The 2008-2009 Community Projects for the Junior League of Bryan-College Station are Special Olympics - Texas Fall Classic, The Children's Museum of the Brazos Valley, Brazos Valley Food Bank - Backpack Program, George Bush Library and Museum - Education Docent Program, NICU Family Support Project, The Boys and Girls Club - Fun Times at the Club, and Stuff the Bus, which is the Signature Project of the Junior League of Bryan-College Station.

The Junior League also made a special check presentation to the Bryan and College Station Independent School Districts.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus