Tejano Music Awards

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Veterans of the airwaves took home most of the honors from the 2006 Tejano Music Awards.

During Saturday's ceremony in Eagle Pass, Shelly Lares won in two categories -- female vocalist and entertainer -- for the third consecutive time. Jay Perez was named male entertainer and vocalist, also making it a third consecutive win.

Jimmy Gonzalez captured the best song award with "Corazon De Fiero," and best album Tejano with "Mejor Que Nunca."

La Tropa F- won best conjunto progressive with "Milagro." Michael Salgado was awarded the best conjunto traditional for "El Zurdo De Oro."

San Antonio group, La Fuerza, was chosen as the most promising band.

Another San Antonio group, the Royal Jesters, was awarded the TMA Lifetime Achievement award. During the 1960s and 1970s, the Jesters had English-language pop and Tejano hits such as "That Girl," "Lady Sunshine," "We Go Together" and "Soy Chicano."

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 2491806 - kbtx.com/a?a=2491806
Gray Television, Inc.