Hurricane Season Preparations

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

In the wake of the government's sluggish response to Hurricane Katrina last year, the Department of Homeland Security wants to streamline federal relief efforts this year. The Atlantic Hurricane season begins June First.

Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff will be announcing the changes today at a hurricane conference in Orlando, Florida. Chief among the changes, the department is assigning federal disaster responders to 13 states. The idea is to have them standing by to deliver aid and supplies to victims quickly during an emergency.

Additionally, the Federal Emergency Management Agency will appoint top-level disaster officials to oversee the federal response in five regions where hurricanes are most likely to strike this year.

The plan has its critics. State emergency managers fear that having top-level overseers will create another level of bureaucracy to deal with in the midst of a disaster.

The 13 states to have federal disaster coordinators are: Texas, Louisiana, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina,
North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey and New

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 2619876 -
Gray Television, Inc.