3 South Texas Counties Receive FEMA Aid

By  | 

BROWNSVILLE, Texas (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management
Agency has sent a little more than $14.4 million in aid to
residents of three South Texas counties hit by Hurricane Dolly.
Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy counties were declared eligible on
July 31 to receive the aid for individual assistance for temporary
housing assistance for those forced from their homes, as well as
money for limited home repairs.
The deadline to apply is Sept 30. Residents in those counties
will be able to register for the assistance immediately through the
FEMA hot line at 800-621-FEMA and the agency's Web site
Dolly hit the lower South Texas coast July 23 as a Category 2
hurricane, with 100 mph winds. It dumped more than a foot of rain
in places.