Incumbents Berry, Bradley Unseated in B/CS

By  | 

Both of the Twin Cities saw a sitting council member beaten in Saturday's city elections. College Station's Nancy Berry and Bryan's Russell Bradley were defeated by Dave Ruesink and Mike Southerland, respectively.

Southerland scored the widest margin of victory in either of the city council races, defeating Bradley by a 64-36 percent margin for the at-large seat on Bryan's council. Southerland earns a seat in Bryan a year after falling short in a race against Mark Conlee.

Single Member District 5 seatholder Ben Hardeman was the only city council incumbent to retain their seat. He won a second consecutive term by defeating Planning and Zoning Chairperson Kim Casey. Hardeman won 56 percent of the vote. He had served a pair of terms prior to his current stint on the council.

A former Bryan councilwoman is returning to join Hardeman and Southerland. Annette Stephney was elected to fill the remaining year of Paul Madison's term. She defeated Mike Flores for the Single Member District 2 seat, winning 58 percent of the vote. Madison is running for the Brazos County commissioner's seat currently held by Carey Cauley.

Berry's reelection bid in College Station was stopped by Ruesink, who won by a 59-41 percent margin.

He will be joined on the College Station council by former mayor Lynn McIlhaney, who squeaked by political newcomer Paul Marvin with a 52-48 percent margin, with just 103 votes separating the two.

The only contested school board race in the Twin Cities was in Bryan, with Merrill Green scoring a landslide victory over P.J. Vargas. The former Bryan High football coach will continue on the school board with 78 percent of the vote for the at-large Place 7.

Also, Bryan voters had 16 charter amendments to vote on, 15 of which passed. The only one not to win approval was the first, which would have allotted $250 to each council member each month for expenses they incurred.

Among those that passed was the creation of a city auditor as appointed by the city council.

For results from across the region, click on the "Election 2006" banner here at