DeLay's Replacement

By  | 

Some Republican leaders Thursday will decide who to back as a write-in candidate to replace embattled former US House Majority Leader Tom DeLay.

The lawmaker from Sugar Land won his March primary, then quit Congress in June -- and said he's moved to Virginia.

Texas GOP chairwoman Tina Benkiser has called for a gathering of all precinct chairmen and women in DeLay's former district.

They'll hear from candidates seeking the party's blessing -- and take a straw poll on who they want to support.

Sugar Land Mayor David Wallace has filed to be a write-in candidate in the district. Houston City Councilwoman Shelley Sekula-Gibbs has said she wants to be the Republicans' chosen write-in candidate.

And Benkiser says Paul Bettencourt, Harris County's tax assessor-collector, and Houston businessman Tim Turner also have said they are interested.

The Democrat in the race is Nick Lampson.