Elected Officials to be Sworn in January 1

By  | 

Monday may be New Year's Day, but it's also a big day for elected officials.

All Brazos County officeholders elected in the November general election will be sworn in Monday at 9 a.m. That includes County Judge Randy Sims and Commissioners Duane Peters and Carey Cauley.

Also being sworn in tomorrow are four newly elected officials.

Amanda Matzke becomes judge of County Court at Law #1, taking over for temporary Judge Bill Ballard.

Mike McCleary defeated incumbent Charles Ellis in the March primary and takes over as Justice of the Peace for Precinct 1.

Vera Lara-Hooge defeated incumbent Margaret Meece in the Republican primary and then topped Democrat Albert Navarro in November to become Justice of the Peace for Precinct 2, Place 1.

And Tommy Munoz defeated incumbent Ray Truelove in the March primary. He takes over as J.P., Precinct 2, Place 2.