Multiple Resignations on Bryan Business Council

By  | 

A major shakeup Tuesday could have long lasting effects on the local economy. Three more members of the Bryan Business Council (BBC) have resigned.

Former Bryan Councilman Mitch Morehead, longtime BBC member Louis Newman and local businessman John Godfrey have all resigned. These follow the earlier resignation of BBC Chairman Dick Perkins.

That leaves the BBC with only three members: Russell Bradley, Chris Peterson and Ann Drozd. Sources familiar with the situation say recent appointments by the city council is what caused friction within the group. The BBC is an independent body appointed to oversee retail economic development in Bryan.