White Prevails in CS Mayor's Race; Runoff Set for Place 1

Like their neighbors to the north, College Station's mayor pro tem, a councilman for two years, will now assume the mayor's position.

Ben White defeated former mayor pro tem and city councilman Dennis Maloney. White earned 2,057 votes, or 56 percent. Maloney won 1,607 votes, or 44 percent.

White ran a campaign of optimism, repeatedly painting a bright picture of College Station currently, while saying the city would be benefitted best by staying on the current track.

"This is good. What we've talked about this the whole campaign is the need for the city to partner with as many special groups in town and that's what I'm hearing from voters that they want to do," White said. "They want the city to talk to seniors and to businesses and talk and listen to neighborhoods, and that's what we will be doing."

The one-year unexpired term of White in Place 1 was also up for grabs Saturday night, but will be decided in a runoff June 23.

Texas A&M professor and parks expert John Crompton won 1,670 votes, but fell short of earning a majority, as it was only good enough for 47 percent. Current Place 2 Councilman and Easterwood Airport Director John Happ earned 1,522 votes, or 42 percent.

Businessman Robert Miksch was a distant third in his first political bid, winning just 396 votes (11 percent).

"We're going to get our message out to as many voters as we can and the more they understand the message the more they will feel in favorite and the more votes we'll get," Crompton said.

"If there's going to be a runoff, the challenge is to get as many voters out to vote, and that's what I'm working on for the next month is to get people out to vote and to support me," Happ said. "I want to thank both candidates for running a clean race and I appreciate their efforts, I really do."

James Massey was uncontested in his bid for the Place 2 seat, so he will return to the council after a short absense. Happ was unable to run for his seat again because he had already served five years on the council, and the limit is six consecutive years.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7480732 - kbtx.com/a?a=7480732
Gray Television, Inc.