Two Newcomers, Former Councilman Elected in B-CS Runoffs

By  | 

It was a good night to be a political newcomer as two residents with no political experinence were elected, while a former councilman was sent back for another term.

In College Station, John Crompton defeated John Happ for the Place 1 unexpired term.

"I'm going to be as articulate a spokesman as I can for their agenda," Crompton said. "And I'm also going to try to return the passion they gave to me at council table."

Crompton will serve out the one year left after Ben White was elected mayor.

Another unexpired term went to Ann Horton as she defeated Lloyd Joyce for Bryan Single Member District 4.

"I feel really excited," Horton said. "I also feel really honored that people would go out and vote for me."

Horton, like Crompton, will serve out the one year remaining after Mark Conlee was elected mayor.

Also in Bryan, former Councilman Paul Madison beat Mike Flores for the full term in Single Member District 2.

Madison gave praise to the "constituents in the community just really, surely working hard to ensure that I was elected."

Final results are as follows:

Bryan, Single Member District 2
3 of 3 precincts reporting
Mike Flores 139, 46%
Paul Madison 166, 54%

Bryan, Single Member District 4 (unexpired term)
3 of 3 precincts reporting
Ann Horton 520, 53%
Lloyd Joyce 469, 47%

College Station, Place 1 (unexpired term)
22 of 22 precincts reporting
John Crompton 1781, 61%
John Happ 1158, 36%