Some Parker County Residents Allowed to Return Home

By  | 

WEATHERFORD, Texas (AP) - Governor Rick Perry has declared
disaster areas in 37 counties across Texas -- making residents of
those counties elegible for state assistance.

The declaration comes after Perry joined local officials in a
National Guard Black Hawk helicopter to survey the wreckage above
Marble Falls Friday.

Meanwhile, President Bush has declared Texas a major disaster
area and ordered federal aid for Cooke, Coryell, Denton, Grayson,
Lampasas and Tarrant counties.

Storms have claimed 11 lives since last week in North and
Central Texas.

Near Marble Falls, about 100 people were stranded for a third
day Friday, as waters blocked all entries and exits. They had
power and water, and the Texas Department of Transportation was
working on a way to get them out.

In Parker County, hundreds of storm-weary residents living along
the rain-swollen Brazos River were allowed to return home. But
others had to keep waiting a day after mandatory evacuations for
some 2,000 people.