A&M Names New Leader of Health Science Center

By  | 

The Texas A&M System Board of Regents has named Health Science Center Interim Executive Vice President and CEO Brett Giroir to the permanent post.

Giroir, an A&M College of Medicine professor, was the vice chancellor for strategic initiatives in the A&M System prior to being named the temporary leader of the Health Science Center in October. He was also principal investigator for the A&M Center for Innovation in Advanced Development and Manufacturing.

Giroir takes the job permanent on the recommendation of the interim president of the university, Mark Hussey.

In 2012, the A&M System decided to transition the Health Science Center under the university's control.

In addition to Monday's choice of Giroir by the regents, Glen Laine was named A&M's vice president of research. He also had been the interim in that role.


The following is a press release from Texas A&M:

Dr. Brett P. Giroir was named executive vice president and CEO of the Texas A&M Health Science Center and Dr. Glen Laine was named vice president for research for Texas A&M University during a telephonic meeting of The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents Monday (Feb. 17) upon the recommendation of Texas A&M Interim President Mark Hussey.

Giroir and Laine had been serving in interim capacities in the positions to which they were formally appointed.

Dr. Giroir is a professor in the College of Medicine and previously served as vice chancellor for strategic initiatives for The Texas A&M University System and principal investigator for the Texas A&M Center for Innovation in Advanced Development and Manufacturing, a public-private partnership with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Earlier in his career, he served as deputy director and, subsequently, director of the Defense Sciences Office of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), where he directed a research portfolio of approximately $450 million annually. He was named interim executive vice president and CEO of the Health Science Center in October 2013.

Dr. Laine is professor and head of veterinary physiology and pharmacology in Texas A&M’s College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, holds the Wiseman-Lewie-Worth Endowed Chair in Cardiology and is director of the Michael E. DeBakey Institute for Comparative Cardiovascular Science and Biomedical Devices. Since joining the Texas A&M faculty in 1991, he has taught at all levels, chaired the committees of nearly 50 doctoral and postdoctoral students and led a research portfolio totaling more than $25 million, including the Center for Cell and Organ Biotechnology grant, of which he is principal investigator. He has served as interim vice president for research since May 2013.

“At my request, Provost Karan Watson solicited input regarding the future of these key leadership positions from deans, senior faculty, and members of the executive committees of the University Distinguished Professors, the Council for Principal Investigators, and the Faculty Senate,” Dr. Hussey said. “The committee that Provost Watson assembled recommended to me last week that I proceed with requesting the removal of their interim titles.

“We are fortunate to have on our campus these two outstanding candidates who are willing to serve in this permanent capacity under my leadership as interim president. I believe it is important to move forward by giving these individuals the entire scope of authority and autonomy that comes with being in the permanent position.”

Hussey commended the regents for their action regarding the appointments, which he said “will allow us to continue and increase momentum on our academic front in the areas of recruitment, fundraising, and other important interactions with external stakeholders, including state and federal agencies, and public and private partners.”