Bryan Firefighters Honored with the Star of Texas Award

By: City of Bryan Press Release Email
By: City of Bryan Press Release Email

 For more information on the Star of Texas Award, or how to nominate a civil servant from your community, go to

BRYAN Four members of the Bryan Fire Department will receive the Governor's Star of Texas Award in recognition of their bravery and sacrifice in service to the City of Bryan, Texas.

In 2003, the 78th Texas Legislature passed and Governor Perry signed House Bill 1937, creating the Star of Texas Awards to honor and commemorate selected first responders who made profound commitments while performing their duties. The Star of Texas is awarded to peace officers, firefighters, emergency medical personnel and first responders who are seriously injured or killed in the line of duty on or after September 1, 2003. Four Bryan firefighters are receiving the Star of Texas Award this year.

Mitch Moran and Ricky Mantey were injured in the Knights of Columbus Hall fire on February 15, 2013. Both returned home to Bryan in April following months of treatment at the Galveston Burn Center for injuries sustained during the fire. Lt. Eric Wallace and Lt. Greg Pickard died from injuries sustained in the same fire.

Moran, Mantey, Lt. Pickard and Lt. Wallace will be honored on Thursday, September 12, 2013 at 9:00 a.m. The ceremony will be hosted at the Shoreline Church, North Campus Sanctuary at 15201 Burnet Road, Austin, Texas 78728. The ceremony is open to the public and all personnel attending will be in Class A uniforms.

"The Bryan Fire Department family has always known that Greg, Eric, Ricky and Mitch were stars of Texas in terms of their commitment to their families, friends and the City of Bryan, as well as their heroism in the line of duty," said Randy McGregor, Bryan Fire Department Fire Chief. "It is appropriate that now the entire State of Texas knows it as well."

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 222676821 -
Gray Television, Inc.