Elections Set in B/CS for City Council, School Board

Each city council and school board in College Station and Bryan will have at least one contested race in this coming November's elections.

In College Station Monday, two city council challengers emerged on the final day to file for the 2014 campaign. For Place 1, Blinn College professor and chairperson Blanche Brick will seek re-election against Texas A&M student Gabriel Pereira. For Place 5, Schultz Engineering co-owner Julie Schultz will also seek a second term, and faces Texas Trading Post co-owner Linda Harvell. Place 3 incumbent Karl Mooney was not challenged and will be the lone name on the ballot for that seat.

For Bryan's city council, Single Member District 4 will be contested by former at-large councilmember and mayoral candidate Mike Southerland and Kyle Incardona of Hillier Funeral Home. Ann Horton, currently the mayor pro tem, has held that SMD4 seat for two terms and cannot seek re-election. Single Member District 3's Greg Owens was unopposed for a run at a first full term on the council. He had won the remainder of the term of Chuck Konderla, who had to vacate the seat when district lines were redrawn.

The Bryan school board features a rematch from a previous election, as attorney and at-large seat incumbent David Stasny faces Roy Flores of Flores Finance Company. Incumbent John Street was unopposed for Single Member District 2.

For College Station's school board, Place 6 incumbent Kimberly McAdams with Firefly Consulting will face Michael Schaefer with Schaefer Custom Homes. Current School Board President Valerie Jochen went unopposed for her Place 7 seat.

Early voting will take place from October 20-31. Election Day is November 4.



Single Member District 3
Greg Owens (I)

Single Member District 4
Kyle Incardona
Mike Southerland
(current councilmember Ann Horton will have served two terms and cannot run)



Single Member District 2
John Street (I)

David Stasny (I)
Roy Flores



Place 1
Blanche Brick (I)
Gabriel Pereira

Place 3
Karl Mooney (I)

Place 5
Julie Schultz (I)
Linda Harvell



Place 6
Kimberly McAdams (I)
Michael Schaefer

Place 7
Valerie Jochen (I)


(I) - Incumbent

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 271747981 - kbtx.com/a?a=271747981
Gray Television, Inc.