House and Senate Leaders Announce Dr. Norman E. Borlaug Statue Dedication

By: KBTX Staff & Joint Press Release Email
By: KBTX Staff & Joint Press Release Email

WASHINGTON, DC – House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH), Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV), Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY), and House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) announced today that they will dedicate a statue of the late Dr. Norman E. Borlaug at a ceremony to be held on Tuesday, March 25 in National Statuary Hall of the United States Capitol.

Widely regarded as America’s greatest agricultural scientist, Dr. Borlaug’s groundbreaking work in wheat improvement saved starving populations around the globe and earned him our nation’s highest honors. The statue will represent the state of Iowa, the birthplace and childhood home of Dr. Borlaug, as part of the National Statuary Hall Collection. Additional details regarding the dedication of the statue will be announced closer to the date of the ceremony.

Dr. Borlaug worked at Texas A&M for nearly 25 years and is the namesake for the Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture which is self-described as a university-based organization of the Texas A&M University System.

Founded in 1984 as the Office of International Agricultural Programs, The Institute was renamed in 2006 and continues to carry on and expand the legacy of Dr. Norman Borlaug.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 247711451 -
Gray Television, Inc.