Bryan Decides Elected Leaders: Props Approved in CS

By  | 

Three Bryan city council seats have been decided in Tuesday's elections, and two of the three winners are returning to the council.

Chuck Konderla and Art Hughes will be back in elected positions by virtue of their victories, while Greg Owens joins the council in Single Member District 3's seat.

With 51 percent of the vote, Konderla defeated Lloyd Joyce (36 percent) and Rafael Pena (13 percent) to represent the at-large place on the council.

Konderla had been serving SMD 3, but was forced from that seat because when district lines were redrawn due to the Census, his home was outside the district.

The at-large seat, which represents the entire city, opened because Mike Southerland is term-limited.

In a special election to fill Konderla's seat, Greg Owens defeated Steve Ramirez by a 61-39 percent margin. SMD 3 covers northern and eastern portions of the city.

Hughes, the incumbent in SMD 5, defeated Craig Regan Tuesday. Hughes won 60 percent of the vote to Regan's 40 percent. SMD 5 represents a southwestern section of Bryan.

For the Bryan Independent School District school board, Tommy Bosquez won with 60 percent of the vote in the race for the at-large seat. He defeated Sylvester Smith, Jr., and his 40 percent. Longtime trustee Merrill Green chose not to run for re-election.

Single Member District 4's Kelli Levey was unopposed for another term on the school board.

Bryan and College Station city council and school board elections had previously been held in May, but were moved to November to coincide with general elections. They are non-partisan.

College Station had no contested city council races, but voters did decide nine propositions, including one to set more specific guidelines for recalls of councilmembers. All propositions passed by wide margins.

John Nichols will represent the College Station city council Place 4 seat being vacated by Katy-Marie Lyles, who chose not to run for a second term. James Benham will take the Place 6 seat, which had been held by Dave Ruesink, who is term-limited.

On the CSISD school board, incumbents Carol Barrett and Paul Dorsett will retain Place 1 and Place 2 seats, respectively. Neither had opponents.

Unlike Bryan, College Station's elected officials each represent the entire city, not specific sections.