Local Representatives Appointed to House Committees

By  | 

House Speaker Joe Straus announced committee assignments for the Legislature's lower chamber on Thursday, ending speculation over key chairmanships and giving lawmakers the go-ahead to start considering bills.

Among those appointed who serve the Brazos Valley, Brazos County rancher and District 12 State Rep Kyle Kacal has been appointed to serve on the Agriculture and Livestock committee as well as the Environmental Regulation Committee.

District 12 covers mostly rural Brazos County. It encompasses all of Robertson, Falls and Limestone Counties, along with an eastern, rural portion of McLennan County.

Brenham's Lois Kolkhorst (R) of District 13 will chair the House's Public Health Committee. Kolkhorst was unopposed for the District 13 seat she first won in 2000. She represents Burleson, Grimes and Washington Counties, along with four others to the southwest. Kolkhorst is serving her seventh term in the Texas House of Representatives.

District 14 Rep John Raney (R) will serve on both the Appropriations and Higher Education Committees. Raney represents the vast majority of Bryan and College Station in the House. In 2011, Raney won a special election to fill the unexpired term of Fred Brown, who left the district to pursue business opportunities.

Raney has owned a local bookstore since his time as a student at Texas A&M, where he graduated in 1969. He was the chairman of the Republican Party in Brazos County for much of the 1970s.

Information from The Texas Tribune contributed to this report. You can read the full article by reporter Emily Ramshaw by clicking on the link at the bottom of this story.