New A&M Corps Hall of Honor Members Inducted

Their service careers started at Texas A&M and led them into World War II. Saturday, five Medal of Honor winners were posthumously inducted into the A&M Corps of Cadets' Hall of Honor.

In addition to the five who served their country after serving in the Aggie Corps, nine others were inducted into the Hall of Honor, which was established back in 1993 to pay tribute to people who distinguished themselves.

The ceremony was held at Rudder Auditorium on campus. Plaques and portraits of inductees are placed in the Sam Houston Sanders Corps of Cadets Center.

Hall of Honor Inductees - Medal of Honor Recipients
George D. Keathley '37 of Olney, Texas
Horace S. Carswell, Jr. '38 of Fort Worth
Thomas W. Fowler '43 of Wichita Falls
Lloyd H. Hughes, Jr. '43 of Refugio, Texas
William G. Harrell '43 of Mercedes, Texas

Other 2013 Hall of Honor Inductees
George Linskie '38 of Dallas
J. Wayne Stark '39 of College Station
Edmond S. Solymosy '60 of the Bar OS Ranch in Brazos County
L.C. "Chaz" Neely '62 of San Antonio
Harris J. Pappas '66 of Houston
Joseph V. Tortorice '70 of Beaumont
Otway Denny, Jr. '71 of Houston
Van Taylor '71 of St. Louis
William M. Fraser, III '74 of Scott Air Force Base in Illinois

Around a hundred people are part of the hall, including honorary inductees: former Secretary of State and former Texas A&M President Robert Gates, and President George H.W. Bush.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 199570811 -
Gray Television, Inc.