Tea Party-Backed Cruz Wins Texas Senate Seat

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

WASHINGTON (AP) - Tea-Party-backed Republican Ted Cruz has won the Texas Senate seat, making him the third Hispanic member of the Senate.

Three more Democrats have won re-election: Sens. Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota and Kirsten Gillibrand of New York. Republican Sens. John Barrasso of Wyoming and Roger Wicker in Mississippi also have won new terms.

Seven other Democrats have won Senate seats, including Rep. Chris Murphy in Connecticut and incumbent Sens. Joe Manchin in West Virginia and Bob Menendez in New Jersey. Fighting for control of the Senate, each party had locked up 40 seats as of 9:30 p.m. Eastern Time, and Republicans 41 seats, including the 67 seats not up this election. Democrats now enjoy a 53-seat majority, including two independents who align with them.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 177572511 - kbtx.com/a?a=177572511
Gray Television, Inc.