Texas A&M Memorial Student Center Wins Governor's Accessibility Award

By  | 

Texas A&M's Memorial Student Center was named one of the 2012 Accessibility Award winners by Governor Perry Wednesday morning.

The Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities, in partnership with the Accessibility Professionals Association, announced the winners, which recognize businesses and organizations that go above and beyond the legal requirements to provide both physical and service accessibility to people with disabilities.

The 2012 APA/GCPD Accessibility Award winners are as follows:

Texas A&M University Memorial Student Center (College Station)
Owner: Texas A&M University – Sherry Wine, Director of Operations and Bill Cox, Manager of Facilities Services
Design Professional: Perkins & Will, Dallas – Richard Miller, primary contact

White Rock Hills Branch Library (Dallas)
Owner: City of Dallas Public Works and Transportation – Terry Williams, City of Dallas and Sandra King, Branch and District Manager
Design Professional: HOK – Stephen Brookover

Winners of the 2012 Accessibility Awards will be honored at a ceremony in conjunction with the APA Annual Conference and Training on Thursday, January 24, at 11:15 a.m. at the Austin Marriott Hotel North in Round Rock. The ceremony is open to the public.