Two-Year Term Drawn by State Senator for Most of Brazos Valley

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

AUSTIN, Texas -- After each redistricting election, Texas Senators draw lots to determine who will serve two- or four-year terms, since half of the Senate is elected every two years. In 2014, 10 Republicans and 5 Democrats will be up for re-election, and 8 Republicans 8 Democrats will face re-election in 2016. The currently empty District 6 seat will be up for re-election in 2016.

Senators drew lots Wednesday and will serve as follows:

Two year terms:

John Carona, R-Dallas

Donna Campbell, R-San Marcos

Wendy Davis, D-Fort Worth

Robert Duncan, R-Lubbock

Craig Estes, R-Wichita Falls

Kelly Hancock, R-Fort Worth

Joan Huffman, R-Southside Place

Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville

Dan Patrick, R-Houston

Ken Paxton, R-McKinney

Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown
District 5, representing Brazos, Freestone, Grimes, Leon, Limestone, Madison, Milam, Robertson, Walker and Williamson Counties

Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo

Leticia Van De Putte, D-San Antonio

Kirk Watson, D-Austin

Royce West, D-Dallas

John Whitmire, D-Houston

Tommy Williams, R-The Woodlands

Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo


Four year terms:

Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury

Bob Deuell, R-Greenville

Rodney Ellis, D-Houston

Kevin Eltife, R-Tyler

Troy Fraser, R-Horsehoe Bay

Glenn Hegar, R-Katy
District 18, representing Aransas, Austin, Burleson, Calhoun, Colorado, Dewitt, Fayette, Goliad, Gonzales, Jackson, Lavaca, Lee, Matagorda, Refugio, Victoria, Waller, Washington, and Wharton Counties, along with parts of Fort Bend and Harris Counties

Chuy Hinojosa, D-McAllen

Eddie Lucio, D-Brownsville

Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound

Jose Rodriguez, D-El Paso

Larry Taylor, R-Galveston

Carlos Uresti, D-San Antonio

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 188210601 -
Gray Television, Inc.