The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University

By: kbtxnews Email
By: kbtxnews Email

The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University has announced its officers and new members of its 2009 Board of Directors.

Shelley E. Potter of Dallas serves as the 2009 Chair with S. Shariq Yosufzai of Oakland, California as Chair Elect and General Hal M. Hornburg (USAF, Ret) of Fair Oaks Ranch as Immediate Past Chair. New board members are Kathleen M. Gibson of Dallas, Kamal Ariss of Houston and Robert W. Harvey of Houston. They join 12 returning directors to complete the 2009 Board, as listed on

Potter is a landscape architect in association with Jeff Potter Architects. She is a member of the American Society of Landscape Architects and has served on numerous civic boards, including the Longview Planning & Zoning Commission and Smart Growth Task Force. A summa cum laude graduate, Potter earned a bachelor’s degree in landscape architecture from Texas A&M University in 1978.

Yosufzai graduated from Texas A&M in 1974 with a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering. He is President of Global Marketing for Chevron Corporation where he is responsible for Chevron's worldwide marketing in 70 countries, under three brands: Chevron, Texaco and Caltex. Yosufzai was honored as both the Outstanding International Alumnus and a Distinguished Alumnus of Texas A&M University in 1999.

Hornburg is the former commander of the Air Combat Command at Langley Air Force Base in Virginia, where he was responsible for more than 1,000 aircraft and 100,000 active-duty military and civilian members. He commanded at all levels: flight, squadron, wing, numbered air force and twice at major command. Hornburg earned a bachelor’s degree in finance from Texas A&M in 1968 and later graduated from the Air Command and Staff College and the National War College.

Gibson serves as President of the Central Region, Commercial Banking for Citibank, a position she has held since 2007. She joined Citibank in November 2006 as Head of Citibank Texas Commercial and President Citibank Texas following 25 years with Bank of America and its predecessor banks. Gibson graduated from Texas A&M in 1981 with a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics.

Ariss graduated from Texas A&M University in 1984 with a bachelor’s degree in engineering technology and went on to earn a master’s degree in land development in 1987. He serves as Vice President of Business Development and Marketing for JE Dunn South Central. Ariss has managed the planning and construction of many large national projects in his 25 years of practice.

Harvey graduated from Texas A&M in 1978 with a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering. Following graduation, he went on to earn an MBA from Harvard Business School. He is President of RWH Ventures LLC. He served on the Texas A&M Foundation’s Board of Trustees from 1999-2006 and as Chairman in 2003. In addition to serving on Texas A&M’s Vision 2020 Executive Committee, Harvey served as Vice Chair of Texas A&M’s recent One Spirit One Vision Campaign.

The Association of Former Students, established in 1879, is the official alumni organization of Texas A&M University. The Association connects the 450,000 members of the worldwide Aggie Network with each other and the university, and provides more than $4.7 million each year in funding for scholarships, awards, activities and enrichment for students, faculty, staff and former students. To learn more about The Association, visit

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 37510599 -
Gray Television, Inc.