College Station Heritage Program Honors Volunteer With National Award - PRESIDENT’S VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD

By: Anne Boykin Email
By: Anne Boykin Email

The City of College Station awarded Vicky Eastes a bronze award from
the PRESIDENT’S VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service. Eastes has been volunteering in the Heritage Programs office for the last 18 months, scanning documents in to the Project HOLD (
historic online library database. She was also instrumental in writing the award application for Heritage Programs’ recent “Leadership in History” award from the American Association for State and Local History. Eastes graduated from Texas A&M University in 2007 with a Master of History degree specializing in European history. She is from Georgetown, Texas.

Established in 2003, the AWARD is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering. As one of thousands of Certifying Organizations participating in the AWARD program, the City of College
Station confers the award to recognize the outstanding achievements of its volunteers.

“In his 2002 State of the Union Address, President George W. Bush created the USA Freedom Corps, and called on every American to make a lifelong commitment to volunteer service. The PRESIDENT’S VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD recognizes individuals and families who have answered that call,” said Anne Boykin, Heritage Programs
Coordinator for the City of College Station.

“The city’s Heritage Programs office is proud to be aligned with this prestigious volunteer award, and we are especially proud of our volunteers who are working hard to preserve our College Station and Brazos Valley history.”

The PRESIDENT’S VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD is an award for volunteer service that every American – from every age and every walk of life – can aspire to achieve. To be eligible to receive the AWARD, individuals, families and groups submit a record of their
annual volunteer service hours to participating Certifying Organizations, such as [Name of Certifying Organization], that will verify the service
and deliver the AWARD. AWARD eligibility for individuals and groups is based on hour requirements varying by age.

The AWARD is issued by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, a group created by President Bush to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making to our Nation. Chaired by two-time Super Bowl Champion Darrell Green, with former U.S. Senators Bob Dole and John Glenn as honorary co-chairs, the Council
comprises leaders in government, media, entertainment, business, education, nonprofits and volunteer service organizations, and community volunteering.

For more information about volunteering for Heritage Programs, contact Anne Boykin at 979.764.3491 or at

For more information about how to qualify for the PRESIDENT’S VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD and to find out how to identify additional volunteer opportunities in this area, visit or call 1-866-545-5307.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 51327572 -
Gray Television, Inc.