Bryan Business Council Back in Business

After months of being sidelined, the Bryan Business Council is ready to get back in action with four new members.

Since March, the BBC has been unable to meet after the resignations of four of its seven members. Tuesday night, after talking in executive session, the city council voted on four new members:

- George Nelson from Wells Fargo Bank
- James Connor Smith with Brazos Land Realty
- local developer Bill Lero
- Tim Bryan with First National Bank.

When the BBC next meets, the group will decide which person will serve the term that expires at the end of this year, with the other three serving until the end of 2008.

The business council serves to help attract business to the city.

"You could have different people than those because we have a lot of good people in our community, but you couldn't have a better group of people than those four to participate in our business council," said Bryan City Councilmember Ben Hardeman.

In the time since the resignations, Bryan's economic development director, Dennis Goehring, was transitioned into a staff position that answered directly to City Manager David Watkins. Previously, Goehring had worked at the direction of the BBC.

The city council and staff will now explore any changes in the mission of the BBC. Watkins has suggested the BBC transfer its land assets to the city.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8692692 -
Gray Television, Inc.