Texas A&M Men’s Golf Set for SEC Championship

By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Adam Quisenberry
By: TAMU Sports Information Department/Adam Quisenberry

SEA ISLAND, Georgia — For the first time in its history the Texas A&M men’s golf team is set to participate in the SEC Men’s Golf Championship, which tees off this weekend at Sea Island Golf Club.

“The championship season is always an exciting time, but this year it is even more so playing in our first ever SEC Championship,” Texas A&M head coach J.T. Higgins said. “It is an incredible conference for golf with exceptional teams, players and coaches. There are so many highly ranked teams with big dreams and high expectations that it should be a really competitive tournament.”

A year ago, prior to their move the SEC, the Aggies captured the 2012 Big 12 Championship at Whispering Pines in Trinity, Texas. This season, a new challenge awaits A&M as the SEC Championship field will be one of the deepest and most competitive in the country.

Eight teams in the tournament (No. 2 Alabama, No. 11 Florida, No. 13 Georgia, No. 16 Arkansas, No. 17 LSU, No. 20 Auburn, No. 22 Texas A&M and No. 25 Tennessee) are ranked in the top 25 of the most recent Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings, while four more squads (No. 27 Mississippi State, No. 33 South Carolina, No. 37 Missouri and No. 42 Vanderbilt) are represented in the poll’s top 50 teams.

The Seaside Course at Sea Island Golf Club is a par-70 course that stretches over 6,883 yards and is the annual site of the PGA Tour’s McGladrey Classic.

“It will be the first time we have played the course but Sea Island will be a great challenge,” Higgins added. “It is not overly long but has tough, undulating greens and the wind swirls which can make things difficult. It will be important to stay committed to our game plan and to stay patient to compete on this course against these teams.”

Representing Texas A&M this weekend at the SEC Championship will be Cameron Peck, Drew Evans, Johannes Veerman, Greg Yates and Andrew Lister.

“I like the way our team is playing,” Higgins said. “We were very competitive in the Aggie Invitational and have looked good in practice this week. I think we are prepared and ready to play our best golf of the year.”

The opening round of the SEC Championship is slated to begin at 6:30 a.m. (CT) on Friday with the Aggies playing in the third grouping alongside Tennessee and Mississippi State, which will begin on the No. 1 tee box at 8:10 a.m. (CT).

Live scoring for the event will be available at GolfStat.com.

2013 SEC Men's Golf Championship
April 19-21, 2013
Sea Island, Georgia
Seaside Course (par 70 / 6,883 yards)
The Field (14 teams): Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt
Format: Team stroke play, 54 holes
Defending Champions: Alabama (828, -12); Justin Thomas, Alabama (203, -7)
Round 1: Friday
Round 2: Saturday
Round 3: Sunday
A&M lineup: Cameron Peck, Drew Evans, Johannes Veerman, Greg Yates & Andrew Lister
Live Scoring: Golfstat.com
Live Updates: Twitter @AggieMensGolf
Up Next: NCAA Regionals, May 16-18, Site: TBD

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-188
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 203680481 - kbtx.com/a?a=203680481
Gray Television, Inc.