Walker County Republicans Announce Candidate Forums

HUNTSVILLE (January 14, 2009) – The Republican Party of Walker County announced today that the Party will be hosting two candidate forums leading up to the March 2, 2010 Republican Primary election. The forum for local Walker County Republican candidates in contested Primary races will be held on Tuesday, February 2, 2010 at 6:30 PM in the District Courtroom at the Walker County Courthouse. A separate forum for Republican candidates for State Senate and the 278th State District Judge will be held at 6:30 PM on Tuesday, February 9, 2010 in the Walker Education Center Auditorium.

An historic number of candidates, 31, filed to run for local and Party office as Republicans in Walker County in 2010. “There’s a lot of interest and excitement in the Republican Primary this year and we want to showcase our candidates for local office as well as those running for State Senate and District Judge,” said Russell Martinez, Chairman of the Republican Party of Walker County.

The Republican County Candidate Forum on February 2, 2010 will feature Republican candidates for County Clerk, Precinct 2 County Commissioner, and Justice of the Peace for Precincts 2 and 3. The forum on February 9, 2010 will feature candidates for State Senate and District Judge. “These forums will be good opportunities for Walker County voters to get to know these candidates before casting their vote in the Republican Primary,” Martinez said.

Both forums will allow candidates to discuss their qualifications and backgrounds and will feature prepared questions from a moderator as well as questions from the audience. Candidates invited to participate: for State Senate: Steve Ogden and Ben Bius; for 278th District Judge: Kenneth H. Keeling and Leslie G. Hardy; for County Clerk: David Standlee, Ruth White Bond, and Kari French; for Precinct 2 Commissioner: Paris Mims, Bill Don Avritt, and Ronnie White; for Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace: Eric Fugate and Richard B. Duncan; for Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace: Susan McGilberry Embry, Johnny Holland, and Mark W. Holt.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 81803072 - kbtx.com/a?a=81803072