The Roar Staff Receives Awards

By: AP
By: AP

Members of The Roar newspaper staff at A&M Consolidated were recently awarded more than 20 individual awards from the Interscholastic League Press Conference, an affiliate of the University Interscholastic League and one of the nation’s largest state high school associations of student newspapers and yearbooks.

The judges selected the following winners in each category for class 5A small schools.

News writing – second place: Daniel Laprea
News feature – second place: Clare Lynch; third place: Alex Liu
Editorial writing – honorable mention: Taylor Jackson
Feature writing – first place: Taylor Jackson; third place: Katie Gibson
Entertainment feature – honorable mention: Laurel Richards and Jennifer Acuff
Personal column – second place: Liz Blomstedt; third place: Taylor Jackson
In-depth news/feature – first place: Clare Lynch
In-depth news/feature package – honorable mention: Sam Walker and Taylor Jackson
Page one design – first place: Taylor Jackson; third place: Taylor Jackson
Sports page design – honorable mention: Courtney Reynolds
Sports action photo – honorable mention: Daniel Laprea
Feature photo – honorable mention: Amanda Martin
Student art – honorable mention: Victoria Elliott
Computer art – third place: Rafik Massoud and Taylor Jackson
Cartoons – honorable mention: Victoria Elliott

Senior Taylor Jackson, editor-in-chief of The Roar newspaper, was awarded Tops in Texas for her Page One design by the Interscholastic League Press Conference, an affiliate of the University Interscholastic League. The panel of judges selects only one student whose work exemplifies the top in the state. Taylor will attend the University of Texas in the fall to major in journalism.

The award was presented during the 81st annual ILPC state convention, April 19-20 at the University of Texas at Austin.

The high school newspaper The Roar at A&M Consolidated was recently awarded the Silver Star from the Interscholastic League Press Conference. This award places the newspaper in the top 5 percent of scholastic newspapers in Texas.

It was one of 29 newspapers statewide to be recognized with a Star Award from ILPC.

Members of The Roar newspaper staff include Taylor Jackson, editor-in-chief; Sam Walker, managing editor; Laurel Richards, senior editor; Clare Lynch, features editor; Liz Blomstedt, news editor; Courtney Reynolds, sports editor; Daniel Laprea, opinions editor; Jennifer Acuff, Alex Liu, Amanda Martin, Elizabeth Sterling and Katie Gibson, assistant editors; Rafik Massoud, graphic designer; Victoria Elliott, graphic artist; and Stephen Nock, Megan Lightsey, Alejandra Oliva and Hanna White, reporters. The newspaper is advised by Courtney Wellmann and assistant advisor Randi Costenbader.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 18017619 -
Gray Television, Inc.