Iola Holds First Vote; Chappell Hill Votes Not to be City

A pair of small communities took different paths during Saturday night's elections.

In Washington County, residents in the community of Chappell Hill decided against incorporation. Of the 201 votes cast, 74 percent went against the idea of incorporation.

A secondary vote for a mayor was null and void because the incorporation did not pass.

In Grimes County, it was a different story for Iola, which last year decided to incorporate. Saturday was the new city's first elections.

Christina Stover, who was a major player in the incorporation efforts, won the city's mayoral election.

Five city council members were also decided: Curtis Darby, Gene Hayes, Jerry Norman, Laura Carter Carabajal and Becky Wren Evans.

Also of note in Iola, a school bond proposition worth $10 million failed by a 178-166 vote.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 18836034 -
Gray Television, Inc.