A&M Professor Named Interim Kingsville President

By: Texas A&M System Press Release
By: Texas A&M System Press Release

The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents on Friday named Dr. Robert H. Strawser as interim president of Texas A&M University-Kingsville. Dr. Strawser, an accounting professor since 1973 at Texas A&M University, replaces Dr. Rumaldo Z. Juárez, who retires in June after almost six years as president of Texas A&M-Kingsville.

A 14-member search advisory committee was appointed in April to help identify candidates for the position. Juárez, who took office as president at Texas A&M-Kingsville in August 2002, will remain as the associate vice president for research and graduate studies.

Dr. Strawser, a Texas A&M System Regents Professor at the Mays Business School who has held the Anderson Chair as Professor of Accounting since 1977, will begin his duties at Texas A&M-Kingsville on July 1. He also was the Arthur Andersen & Co. Former Students’ Professor of Accounting, 1985-1996; Graduate Research Fellow from 1980-1984, and at the Mays Business School, he was acting dean, 1978-1979; associate dean, 1975-1978, and professor of accounting, 1973-1984. He previously taught accounting at the University of Houston, Northeastern University in Boston, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, Va., and Pennsylvania State University in University Park, Pa.

“We are very fortunate to have someone of Dr. Strawser’s caliber step in as interim president at Texas A&M-Kingsville,” said Michael D. McKinney, M.D., chancellor of the Texas A&M System. “His attitude of service will enable the search advisory committee to conduct a thorough, unhurried search for the best possible candidates.”

Among his teaching career highlights, Dr. Strawser received the Distinguished Research Award from the Allied Academies of Social Science in April; was the only speaker of the Texas A&M Faculty Senate to be elected to two terms (2000 and 2002) and received the Regents Professor Service Award for “outstanding service and commitment to the people of Texas and beyond” in 2000. He also received the Outstanding Teaching Award, Honors Program, from the Mays Business School in 1997, and the Outstanding Alumnus Award from Beta Alpha Psi, student accounting organization, from 1974-1997.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19212119 - kbtx.com/a?a=19212119
Gray Television, Inc.