First Filings Made for May Elections in B/CS

Filing for the May city and school board elections in the Twin Cities is underway, and a flurry of filings have already been made.

In Bryan, incumbent Councilman Mike Southerland will seek to regain the lone at-large seat on the council. Also filing Monday was Art Hughes, who will run for Single Member District 5.

The current holder of that seat, Ben Hardeman, cannot run again because of term limits.

In College Station, both incumbents up for re-election have filed. Place 4's Lynn McIlhaney and Place 6's Dave Ruesink signed on to run again on Monday.

Bryan Independent School District will have at least three people running for Single Member District 4. Monday, James Edge, Jeff Goehl and Kelli Levey all filed for the position. According to the district, current seat holder Bema Johnson has said she will not run again.

In College Station, newcomers Paul Dorsett and Joel Mitchell are seeking Place 1, while Carol Barrett has filed for Place 2

The deadline for filing is March 9. Election Day is May 9.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 39336157 -
Gray Television, Inc.