BBB Announces Torch Award Recipients

By: Joe Brown Email
By: Joe Brown Email

A jewelry store, foundation repair business, and real estate company are this year's big winners in the Better Business Bureau's annual Torch Awards.

The award recognizes businesses committed to maintaining exceptionally high standards of ethical behavior in buyer and seller relationships.

Douglas Jewelers earned top honors in the Small Business category. In business since 1964, Douglas was honored for historically meeting and abiding by the BBB code of ethics and business practices. Ronnie and Sandy Arrington accepted the award.

Winning the Medium Business category was Anchor Foundation Repair. It was recognized for 25 years of setting a standard for all aspects of ethical business in terms of honest and thorough communication. Ken Tripp accepted the award.

Taking home the honors in the Large Business category was Brazosland Realty. Brazosland was honored for 35 years of providing honesty, integrity and exceptional customer service. Steve Arden accepted the award.

Other nominees for this year's Torch Award were: 6-H Fleet Leasing, Aggieland Automotive, Barker's Heating & Cooling, Inc., Boyd Ready Mix, Inc., Brazos Valley Septic & Water, Inc., Bryan Broadcasting Corporation, City Paint & Body, Compass Bank, Faith Floors and More, Kyle Office Products, Mariott Homes, Inc., Mr. Electric Smartfiles, The Texas Store, Van Stavern Small Animal Hospital and Wayne Construction & Improvement

The Better Business Bureau announced the recipients of the 2009 BBB Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics at a luncheon at Miramont Country Club on April 9. Mike Wright, general manager of KBTX Media, served as master of ceremonies.

Larry Lightfoot, Bureau President noted, "The Better Business Bureau system believes that consistently practicing business in an ethical fashion is as important as any other aspect of management. By conducting BBB Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics competitions across the country, and then honoring the most outstanding companies for national recognition, the Bureau system is seeking to illuminate the importance of a company's obligation to the marketplace to do what is right and what is fair."

Prior winners have been Fred Brown Mazda-BMW and Union Pacific Resources as the first recipients. Last year's recipients included H. Bond Construction, Conlee-Garrett Moving and Storage, and KBTX Media. Pilger's Tire & Automotive Center, Central Texas ENT, Producers Cooperative Association, Appletree Markets on Briarcrest, Borski Homes, The Pharmacy Shop, Pitcock & Croix, Inc., Sterling Auto Group, Brookshire Brothers, Ltd. of Lufkin, Superior Auto Service, Copy Corner, Target, University Title Company, Pete's Exxon, Loggins Plumbing in Lufkin, First National Bank, Allen Honda, and Brewer, Eyeington & Company have been prior recipients. Union Pacific went on to be a finalist in the national competition.

Randy Pennington, with Pennington Performance Group in Dallas, was the featured speaker for the event. Mr. Pennington helps leaders and organizations build cultures focused on results, relationship, and accountability. He is a twenty-year business performance veteran, author, and consultant who has worked with many of this country's best-known organizations in addition to government agencies at the local, state, and national level. Additionally, he serves as an adjunct instructor in the Cox Business Leadership Center at Southern Methodist University.

Pennington is a frequent radio talk show guest/commentator. His ideas and comments on integrity, trust, and commitment have appeared in The New York Times, Entrepreneur, Executive Excellence, on CNN, Fox News, the BBC, the ABC radio network. His first book, On My Honor, I Will, was followed in 2006 by his second, Results Rule! Build a Culture that Blows the Competition Away.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42760122 -
Gray Television, Inc.