Bryan Mayor's Seat Goes to Bienski Over Morehead

By: Joe Brown Email
By: Joe Brown Email

Bryan Mayor Pro Tem Jason Bienski is the city's new mayor.

Bienski defeated former council member Mitch Morehead by a margin of 58-42 percent. He had 1,874 votes while Morehead received 1,380.

"I want to keep the momentum going, and there's a lot of things we are going to keep on working on in a tough economy," Bienski said. "I am very proud of our staff. I am very proud of our entire council. You know, it's a team work effort. Our citizens committees, our homeowners associations, everyone is involved in making Bryan a better place to live. We are going to continue that, making Bryan a great place to live, raise a family, work and retire."

Bienski will be joined on the council by incumbent Paul Madison, who won re-election for Single Member District 2 by defeating Howard Hill 54-46 percent.

In the closest race of the evening, Richard Cortez unseated Single Member District 1 incumbent Al Saenz by one vote. The final total was 76 for Cortez, 75 for Saenz.

In Single Member District 3, Chuck Konderla defeated Bettye Pool 58-42 percent. Konderla will serve out the remaining year of Jason Bienski's term in that seat.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 93209239 -
Gray Television, Inc.