Bryan Mayor's Seat Goes to Bienski Over Morehead

By: Joe Brown Email
By: Joe Brown Email

Bryan Mayor Pro Tem Jason Bienski is the city's new mayor.

Bienski defeated former council member Mitch Morehead by a margin of 58-42 percent. He had 1,874 votes while Morehead received 1,380.

"I want to keep the momentum going, and there's a lot of things we are going to keep on working on in a tough economy," Bienski said. "I am very proud of our staff. I am very proud of our entire council. You know, it's a team work effort. Our citizens committees, our homeowners associations, everyone is involved in making Bryan a better place to live. We are going to continue that, making Bryan a great place to live, raise a family, work and retire."

Bienski will be joined on the council by incumbent Paul Madison, who won re-election for Single Member District 2 by defeating Howard Hill 54-46 percent.

In the closest race of the evening, Richard Cortez unseated Single Member District 1 incumbent Al Saenz by one vote. The final total was 76 for Cortez, 75 for Saenz.

In Single Member District 3, Chuck Konderla defeated Bettye Pool 58-42 percent. Konderla will serve out the remaining year of Jason Bienski's term in that seat.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 93209239 -
Gray Television, Inc.