56 Blinn College Students Inducted Into International Honor Society

By: Blinn College Press Release
By: Blinn College Press Release

Blinn College recently inducted 56 new members to Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the international two-year college honor society.

To be eligible, students most earn a grade point average of at least 3.45 while taking 12 or more transferable credit hours. The Blinn – Bryan chapter, Alpha Phi Lambda, currently includes about 200 members and has inducted almost 4,000 since the chapter was established in 1992.

“Blinn has a rich history with Phi Theta Kappa,” said Advisor and Social Science Professor Joseph Denman. “We have a long history of winning society awards, and our sister chapter on the Brenham campus has such a legacy that PTK’s award for continuing excellence is named for them.”

The society is open to students in all majors. Once inducted, students participate in community service projects such as Relay for Life and also participate in campus-based service activities.

Headquartered in Jackson, Miss., Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters around the globe. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

This semester’s Alpha Phi Lambda inductees include: Erin Rachael Abbott, Luis Arrendondo, Margot Avila, Malak Benkhadra, Sunania Bhatia, Derek Alexander Bryan, Travis Ray Buehring, Robin Nicole Callahan, Justin K Cash, Bradley James Cathcart, Ashley R Cooper, Tara Clawer Cowen, Michael Eugene Dudley, Lindsey Christine Flesch, Kelly Nicole Gore, Allison Audrey Cobb Helms, Tyler James Henderson, Brendan Matthew Hermes, Amanda Renee Heth, Katherine Elizabeth Hoffman, Hanna Marie Hollek, Timothy Michael Jackson, Michael Dean Jarrett, Michael Lee Kimmel, Min Jin Koh, Courtney Leigh Logue, Shirley Ann Maguire, Yuriy Olegovich Mazyar, Connor Gray McCurdy, Cade Patrick McGovern, Martha Kate McJunkin, Madden Elizabeth Murphy, Demetri Alise Myles, Dakotah Marie Nation, Luke Isaac Neese, Sergio A Oquendo, Roberto Pelucarte, Rebecca Marie Pinkston, Elizabeth G Platts, Brooke Elise Podlogar, Grant T Posell, Angela Pozzuoli, Kyle Martin Purser, Victoria De Bacco Quintero, David M Ramirez, Martin Gilbert Revilla, Ariane Rochelle Rodgers, Elizabeth Nicole Rodriguez, Devorah Kristie Ross, Jade Ruiz, Brittany K Sheeler, Melissa Jo Sheldon, Zachariah David Sims, Kristin Suzanne Smith, Megan Gabrielle Smith, Tori Smith, Allison Elizabeth Stanley, Danielle Bunny Steele, Pribadi Agung Sulistyawan and Kaitlin Ruth Wynn.

Blinn enrolled 18,413 students this Fall and has experienced 31.1 percent growth since 2006. Founded in 1883, the College’s tuition and fees average about one-third the cost of the same classes at most four-year public universities in the state. In addition to its four campuses in Brenham, Bryan, Schulenburg and Sealy, the College teaches online courses, dual credit for high school and prepares students for quick employment through its workforce education, technical training and vocational education programs. For enrollment information and to learn about financial aid opportunities, visit: www.blinn.edu.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 228958901 - kbtx.com/a?a=228958901
Gray Television, Inc.