Bryan Candidates Meet in Monday Forum - LIVE at

Candidates for the Texas House to represent Brazos County and other portion of the Brazos Valley met in a B/CS Chamber forum on October 15.

Click here for video of the event.

Candidates for Bryan's city council and school board will meet Monday in a forum hosted by the Bryan/College Station Chamber of Commerce.

The event will start at 6:00 p.m. at Briarcrest Country Club in Bryan, and will stream live at and air on NewsTalk 1620. WTAW's Scott DeLucia will moderate.'s Livestream Page

Three candidates are seeking the at-large seat on the city council. Current Single Member District 3 Councilmember Chuck Konderla has to relinquish that seat after redistricting placed his home outside SMD3. Konderla faces Lloyd Joyce and Rafael Rafa Pena for the at-large place. Current seat holder Mike Southerland cannot run due to term limits.

Greg Owens and Steve Ramirez are running in a special election for SMD3.

Incumbent SMD5 Councilmember Art Hughes faces Craig Regan.

For the Bryan Independent School District Board of Trustees, Tommy Bosquez and Sylvester Smith are looking to fill the at-large seat. Merrill Green chose not to run for re-election.

SMD4 Trustee Kelli Levey is unopposed.

There are no contested races in College Station. John Nichols will represent Place 4 after Katy-Marie Lyles chose not to run for a second term. James Benham will take Place 6, with Dave Ruesink unable to run again due to term limits. On the CSISD board, incumbents Carol Barrett and Paul Dorsett were unopposed for Places 1 and 2, respectively.

Previously, elections in the Twin Cities had been held in May, but this will be the first in November following both municipalities' decisions to change their calendar to coincide with general elections.

The city elections are non-partisan. A voter who makes a straight party entry on their ballot must also make separate choices for city council and school board.

Early voting begins Monday. Election Day is November 6.

Do you plan to vote early in the 2012 elections? (Click here to learn more and voice your opinion)

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 175150091 -
Gray Television, Inc.