Dr. Tommy Wallis from Bryan ISD Named Regional Superintendent of the Year

By: Bryan ISD Press Release Email
By: Bryan ISD Press Release Email

BRYAN - The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) has announced that Bryan ISD Superintendent Tommy Wallis received the 2014 Region 6 Superintendent of the Year award. The region covers school districts in 15 counties and is one of 20 Educational Service Centers (ESCs) led by the Texas Education Agency. The award is underwritten by Balfour and sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB).

“I’m honored that the accomplishments of our students and district employees were recognized in this special way,” Wallis said. “The success of a superintendent and his or her district largely comes from the efforts of students and a staff of dedicated people. I’m pleased to work with people who place children first, always.”
Being named a regional superintendent of the year places Wallis in contention to become the statewide superintendent of the year at the upcoming Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA)/TASB convention Sept 26 – 28 in Dallas.

Nominees must have served as superintendent of their district for at least three consecutive school years, be a TASA member, meet the State Board for Educator Certification continuing professional education requirement and be an active superintendent at the time of the 2014 TASA/TASB convention.

Prior to being nominated for the award, each superintendent must have an express endorsement from his or her school board in the form of a resolution supporting the nomination. Citing Dr. Wallis’ leadership in the areas of student performance, administration, school climate, school improvement, fiscal management, community relations and board-superintendent relations, the district’s board of trustees unanimously supported a motion to nominate Wallis on April 21.

ESC Region 6, headquartered in Huntsville, represents the following Texas counties: Austin, Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Houston, Leon, Madison, Milam, Montgomery, Polk, Robertson, San Jacinto, Trinity, Walker, and Washington.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 265133731 - kbtx.com/a?a=265133731
Gray Television, Inc.