Elections Set for B/CS in 2013

Filing for the November 5 elections in College Station and Bryan concluded Monday evening. In all, there will be six contested elections for city council and school board trustee positions, along with a school bond election.


In College Station, Mayor Nancy Berry will be unopposed for a second term as the city's top elected official. The other city council seat up for election is Place 2.

With current seat holder Jess Fields choosing not to run for re-election, investment advisor Steve Aldrich and retired librarian Gary Ives will look to win the seat. All College Station council positions are at-large, meaning all registered voters can vote for each seat.

College Station voters will also cast ballots for or against an $83.5 million school bond that would go towards a ninth elementary school, a center for alternative learning and other improvements, projects and purchases.

For CSISD's school board, only one of three seats up for election will be contested. Place 3's Dr. Garland Watson is not seeking re-election, leaving clothing store owner John Fedora, City of College Station information technologies director Ben Roper and Texas A&M associate professor Michael Wesson seeking the seat.

Board Secretary Jeff Harris is unopposed for his Place 4 seat, and construction contractor Quinn Williams is unopposed for Place 5. Current Place 5 trustee Randall Pitcock also chose not to seek re-election.


Like in College Station, Bryan's mayoral seat is up for election. Current mayor Jason Bienski will be opposed by former at-large councilmember Mike Southerland, whose second term on the council ended last year. Bienski and Southerland frequently clashed during their time together on council.

One of Southerland's allies on the council was Al Saenz, but three years ago, he lost the Single Member District 1 seat to Richard Cortez by a single vote. With Cortez up for re-election, Saenz has filed to regain the seat. SMD1 covers a western portion of the city. Cortez is a retired letter carrier. Saenz works in shipping and receiving.

A third seat on the Bryan city council will feature a newcomer because current Single Member District 2 seat holder Paul Madison is term-limited. Two candidates previously ran for council seats. Kevin Davenport works in home health aid and unsuccessfully ran for SMD3 in 2008, losing to Bienski. Realty company vendor Rafael Pena III sought the at-large seat last year but lost to Chuck Konderla. This year's third SMD2 candidate, Perry Stephney, is a retired military and FedEx worker whose late wife, Annette, previously served as SMD2's councilmember. This district covers north Bryan.

Only one of three school board seats up for election this year are contested. Board President Douglas Wunneburger from SMD5 (southwest Bryan) and Board Secretary Felicia Benford from SMD1 (west Bryan) are unopposed.

With Maritza Hoffman choosing not to run for re-election for SMD3 (northeast Bryan), Trey Moore and Josh Smith are seeking the seat. Moore is a military history company owner. Smith owns a video production company.



Nancy Berry (I)

Place 2
Steve Aldrich
Gary Ives
(incumbent Jess Fields chose not to run for re-election)


Place 3
John Fedora
Ben Roper
Michael Wesson
(incumbent Dr. Garland Watson chose not to run for re-election)

Place 4
Jeff Harris (I)

Place 5
Quinn Williams
(incumbent Randall Pitcock chose not to run for re-election)

School Bond


Jason Bienski (I)
Mike Southerland

Richard Cortez (I)
Al Saenz

Kevin Davenport
Rafael Pena III
Perry Stephney
(incumbent Paul Madison could not run for re-election because he is term-limited)


Felicia Benford (I)

Trey Moore
Josh Smith
(incumbent Maritza Hoffman chose not to run for re-election)

Douglas Wunneburger (I)

*(I) - incumbent

Article has been updated because of an error in identifying the profession of a candidate.

Do you plan on voting in the upcoming municipal and school board elections in November?

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 221232861 - kbtx.com/a?a=221232861
Gray Television, Inc.