Elections Set for College Station; Just One Seat Contested

NOTE: Since this story was reported, Arthur Pinto's name has been removed from the candidate list because he did not properly fill out his candidate filing form. More details are available by clicking here.

College Station's municipal elections have been moved to November, but this first go-around, only one of the four city and school elections will be contested.

Filing ended Monday, and there will be two changes on the city council. Katy-Marie Lyles has chosen not to run for re-election to the Place 4 seat. Dave Ruesink will complete his second term and cannot run for re-election to Place 6.

A pair of previously unsuccessful candidates for the council will go head-to-head for Place 4, with Texas A&M professor John Nichols and retired engineer Arthur Pinto running.

Nichols was defeated by Jana McMillan in 2010 to fill an unexpired term for Place 5. Pinto was defeated in 2011 by Karl Mooney for Place 3.

In Place 6, local businessman James Benham will be unopposed for the seat.

College Station city council seats are at-large, meaning any eligible citizen can run for any seat regardless of where in the city they live.

Both positions up for election on the College Station ISD school board each feature just one candidate. Incumbents Carol Barrett and Paul Dorsett are unopposed for Places 1 and 2 respectively.

The deadline for filing for elections in Bryan is Thursday.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 166819976 - kbtx.com/a?a=166819976
Gray Television, Inc.