Eleven CSISD Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists

Eleven College Station Independent School District (CSISD) seniors were named semifinalists in the 57th-annual National Merit Scholar Program the National Merit Scholar Corporation announced today.

CSISD National Merit Semifinalists:
Franco Bettati
Kyle Campbell
Alexander Carstens
Dustin Frye
Minpeng Li
Austen McDougal
Karen McVay
Erin Mitchell
Lutong Wang
Glenn Welch
Dean Zhu

The 11 CSISD students are in a pool of approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide and are competing for 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth up to $2,500 each. About 90% of the semifinalists are expected to be named finalists and of those, around half will win a National Merit Scholarship and earn the prestigious Merit Scholar title.

More than 1.5 million juniors in about 22,000 U.S. high schools entered the 2012 scholarship program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Scholarship winners for 2011 will be announced in a series of press releases beginning in April and concluding in May.

For more information about the National Merit Scholarship Program, please visit www.nationalmerit.org.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129903168 - kbtx.com/a?a=129903168
Gray Television, Inc.