Pretty soon gun laws could be changing in Texas which would affect the thousands of gun owners in the state.
Both houses have approved a bill that would allow concealed handgun license holders to carry any type of handgun.
Whether it's a revolver or semi-automatic, one concealed handgun license could get you both.
"I honestly think people will take advantage of the freedom of carrying whatever type of gun you can with a license,” said Francisco Vasquez, a College Station resident.
"If you are going to take it on yourself as a citizen to go through the class and accept that responsibility then it shouldn't matter what kind of firearm you are carrying as long as you have accepted that responsibility,” said Jeffrey Pearce, a College Station resident.
Currently if you train with a revolver, you can only carry a revolver. However if you get your license with a semi-automatic, you can carry any handgun.
The new bill would allow license holders to carry any type of handgun, regardless of what category of weapon they used to qualify.
Mike Stulce owns Champion Firearms in College Station. He also teaches concealed handgun classes. The number of hours of training needed to get a license in Texas is also on the table for Governor Rick Perry to sign. From 10-14 hours of training, the legislature passed a law which would require only 4 to 6 hours.
"Think about defense driving. You can probably summarize in a few minutes that you need to slow down and be safe. Same thing with shooting. It's a pretty easy principle that you can simplify quickly,” said Stulce.
Texas has more than 500,000 concealed handgun license holders.
To comment, the following rules must be followed:
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please provide detailed information.