Injured CSPD Officer to be Honored with Star of Texas

A College Station police officer injured in the line of duty will be honored for his bravery next week.

Officer Justin Oehlke will receive the Governor's Star of Texas Award Thursday in Austin.

In August 2012, Oehlke was shot while responding to the Fidelity Street shooting that left Brazos County Constable Brian Bachmann and resident Christopher Northcliffe dead.

The award was created in 2003 to honor first responders seriously injured on the job.

Oehlke will receive the Star of Texas at the Shoreline Church on Burnet Road in Austin at 9:00 a.m. The event is open to the public.

At the same event, Bryan firefighters Eric Wallace, Greg Pickard, Ricky Mantey and Mitch Moran will be honored. Wallace and Pickard died in the February fire at the Knights of Columbus Hall. Mantey and Moran were seriously injured.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 222719411 -
Gray Television, Inc.