KBTX Honored with Texas Medical Association Awards

KBTX reporters and photojournalists were presented with awards from the Texas Medical Association Friday.

The annual Anson Jones, MD Awards serve to honor Texas media for their coverage of health-related issues and topics.

Meredith Stancik and Shane McAuliffe's "To Avery With Love" series took home first place in all television markets in the In-Depth Television News category.

Judges cited the series' "beautiful storytelling and effective use of photos and video," and called it a "great informational and advocacy piece about the value of organ donation."

The series has received numerous honors already, including a Lone Star Emmy award.

Former KBTX reporter Alex Villarreal and current photojournalist Katrina Gutierrez received an honorable mention in the Small-Market Television News category for their story on breakthrough research into the HIV virus at Texas A&M.

Villarreal and current photojournalist Lee Carpio won a citation of merit in the same category for a story on over-medication of children.

Dr. Jim Rohack, the past president of the TMA and the former president of the American Medical Association, presented the honors Friday, along with TMA media relations manager Brent Annear.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161606415 - kbtx.com/a?a=161606415
Gray Television, Inc.